Photo of Wuppertal
© Owner Christian Reimann

Tourism in Wuppertal

Information

Wuppertal is a lively, modern city in the middle of the Bergisches Land. In 1929, it was created by decree of the Prussian government from the two Wupper cities Elberfeld and Barmen as well as some surrounding towns. Today, about 350,000 people live here. Five city walks, some of which can be combined, invite you to discover Wuppertal. The blue information boards of the Bergische Geschichtsverein provide numerous details along the way. Don’t forget: Wuppertal's unique suspension monorail is the most comfortable and fastest way to get around the valley!

Logo - Wuppertal shop

Find special gift ideas, nice souveniers, funny gimmicks and remarkable one-offs, all related to Wuppertal or our beloved Schwebebahn.

Townhall in Elberfeld
© Owner Björn Uberholz

Elverfelde was first mentioned in documents in 1161 as Cologne Tafelhof. It was probably a fortified farm, which served primarily as a supply and overnight station for travelling clergymen, nobles and troops.

The valley of the river Wupper is one of the oldest industrially shaped metropolitan areas. The first bleaching factories had already established themselves around 1400. In 1527, the two towns on the Wupper received a monopoly on the processing and refining of linen yarn. On this basis, the first important textile manufacturers were established around 1750. In the 19th century, the valley of the Wupper rose to an important industrial region. A symbol of this economic power is the suspension monorail, opened in 1901, a masterpiece of engineering and still a landmark of the town today.

Historic town hall in Wuppertal
© Owner Björn Uberholz

Wuppertal is now a city of brands, with aspirin, ingrain wallpaper and Sympatex products having been developed here. With around 4500 architectural monuments, Wuppertal is one of the cities with the highest number of monuments in Germany. In Elberfeld, classical town houses, the basilica of St. Laurentius, the Swimming Opera and the Historical Town Hall are impressive.

In Barmen you will find the monumental town hall, the Bergisch-Baroque slate houses and the opera house. Stucco-decorated buildings from the Wilhelminian period and Art Nouveau houses from the early 20th century characterise the entire townscape.

The villa quarter at the zoo offers an impressive architectural variety due to the decades of construction. The Briller Viertel is one of the largest contiguous Wilhelminian villa quarters in Germany. Textile magnates from Wuppertal built their prestigious houses in spacious parks from the end of the 19th century onwards. Between 1870 and 1914, space-saving housing was created in the Nordstadt for the working families of the textile industry. The four-storey buildings around narrow backyards offered little comfort. Long after light bulbs were already lighting the Briller Viertel, petroleum lamps were still lit there. With the comprehensive restoration, the district with its Wilhelminian style facades has developed into a lively residential quarter.

Foto der Schwebebahn √ľber der Wupper
© Urheber Christian Reimann

Tourismus in Wuppertal

Informationen & Wissenswertes

Wuppertal ist eine lebendige, moderne Gro√üstadt mitten im Bergischen Land. 1929 entstand sie auf Erlass der preu√üischen Regierung aus den beiden Wupperst√§dten Elberfeld und Barmen sowie einigen umliegenden St√§dten. Heute leben hier rund 350.000 Menschen. F√ľnf Stadtrundg√§nge, die sich teils kombinieren lassen, laden Sie dazu ein, Wuppertal zu entdecken. Die blauen Informationstafeln des Bergischen Geschichtsvereins warten unterwegs mit zahlreichen Details auf. Nicht vergessen: Wuppertals einzigartige Schwebebahn ist die bequemste und schnellste Art, sich im Tal fortzubewegen!

Logo Wuppertalshop
Hier bekommen Sie ausgefallene Geschenkideen, nette Erinnerungsst√ľcke, witzige Gimmicks und au√üergew√∂hnliche Einzelst√ľcke, die alle mit Wuppertal oder unserer Schwebebahn zu tun haben.
Das Elberfelder Rathaus
© Urheber Björn Uberholz

1161 wurde Elverfelde als K√∂lner Tafelhof erstmals urkundlich erw√§hnt. Es handelte sich wohl um einen befestigten Hof, der vornehmlich als Versorgungs- und √úbernachtungsstation f√ľr reisende Geistliche, Adelige und Truppen diente.

Das Tal der Wupper ist einer der ältesten industriell geprägten Ballungsräume. Schon um 1400 hatten sich erste Bleicherbetriebe etabliert. 1527 erhielten die beiden Wupperstädte das Monopol auf die Verarbeitung und Veredelung von Leinengarn. Auf dieser Grundlage entstanden um 1750 die ersten bedeutenden Textilmanufakturen. Im 19. Jahrhundert stieg das Tal der Wupper zu einer bedeutenden Industrieregion auf. Ein Symbol dieser wirtschaftlichen Macht ist die 1901 eröffnete Schwebebahn, eine Meisterleistung der Ingenieurskunst und bis heute Wahrzeichen der Stadt.

Historische Stadthalle Wuppertal
© Urheber Björn Uberholz

Wuppertal ist mittlerweile eine Stadt der Marken, hier wurden Aspirin, Raufasertapete und Sympatex-Produkte entwickelt. Mit rund 4500 Baudenkm√§lern z√§hlt Wuppertal zu den denkmalreichsten St√§dten in Deutschland. In Elberfeld beeindrucken klassizistische B√ľrgerh√§user, die Laurentiuskirche, die Schwimmoper und die Historische Stadthalle.

In Barmen finden sich neben dem monumentalen Rathaus auch bergisch-barocke Schieferh√§user sowie das Opernhaus. Stuckverzierte Bauten der Gr√ľnderzeit und Jugendstilh√§user aus dem fr√ľhen 20. Jahrhundert pr√§gen das gesamte Stadtbild. Das Villenviertel am Zoo bietet wegen der jahrzehntelangen Bauzeit eine beeindruckende architektonische Vielfalt.

Das Briller Viertel ist eines der gr√∂√üten zusammenh√§ngenden gr√ľnderzeitlichen Villenviertel Deutschlands. Wuppertaler Textilmagnaten bauten dort ab Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts ihre repr√§sentativen H√§user in gro√üz√ľgigen Parks. In der Nordstadt wurde zwischen 1870 und 1914 platzsparend Wohnraum f√ľr die Arbeiterfamilien der Textilindustrie geschaffen. Die vierst√∂ckigen Bauten um enge Hinterh√∂fe boten wenig Komfort. Lange nachdem im Briller Viertel schon Gl√ľhbirnen brannten, z√ľndete man dort noch Petroleumlampen an, was einem Teil der Nordstadt den Namen √Ėlberg bescherte. Mit der umfassenden Restaurierung hat sich der Stadtteil mit seinen Gr√ľnderzeitfassaden zu einem lebendigen Wohnquartier entwickelt.